All About My Research Experience

by Carolina Rios

Carolina Rios, Bioengineering ‘22

From a list of 12 research laboratories I could choose from to do summer research as a BioESP Fellow (Bioengineering Scholars Program Fellow), I had put the Streets Lab at the bottom. I had chosen my top 3 labs I’d want to be involved in and was excited to see what research lab I’d be placed in! A few weeks went by and I finally got my email…to my surprise, I had been placed in the Streets Lab.

When I found out I’d be working in the Streets Lab, I felt a cloud of insecurity and pressure fall upon me. So many doubts and questions ran through my head, but the top two questions I couldn’t let go of easily were:

  • “I know the Streets Lab does a lot of microfluidic work…what even is that?”
  • “How could I, an inexperienced freshman prone to being clumsy in laboratory classes, be able to succeed in research?”

My summer research had not yet started, yet I had already made my first mistake: I doubted before giving myself the opportunity to learn.

Fast-forward a few weeks and it’s time for me to start my first day as an undergraduate researcher! I remember walking into Stanley Hall, walking up two flights of stairs, entering Professor Streets’ office, and finding myself looking at Professor Streets and my two mentors, Nick and Annie. I sat down and heard Nick and Annie present the research project I’d be working on alongside them — I was confused about 75% of the presentation, but I felt excited to work on the project with them because they exuded such welcoming, warm, and supportive energy. After the first meeting with Professor Streets, my mentors and I had a picnic by the fountain in front of Stanley Hall, where we talked and ate lunch together. It was, without a doubt, the best first day of summer research.

After the first day of fun and excitement, it was time to get to work. Alongside my mentors, I did a lot of experiments and learned so much throughout the process (and had some cool pictures taken too!).

Annie & Carolina at The Streets Lab

It’s true that research is a responsibility; yet if you allow yourself to let go of the pressures and let your lab, PI (Principle Investigator), mentors, and research experience guide you through the process, you’ll find yourself among a supportive community enthusiastic as you to learn and discover.

It’s this community that’s valuable. Being able to “succeed” is an achievement, but perhaps more important is the community that fosters curiosity and both challenges and supports you to make those successful discoveries.

Prof. Aaron Streets, Carolina, Annie and Nick

Whether research is an interest that excites you or intimidates you, remember Berkeley is a place for you to grow. Ask yourself:

  • What do you want to gain from this experience?
  • What do you want to learn?
  • What are your goals?

If research is one of your goals, pursue opportunities to get involved in research! Don’t be afraid to try something new. I had so many doubts before starting research; looking back now, I am so thankful to have been challenged with the Streets Lab, found a supportive community, and realize I belong in research.

--

--

UC Berkeley Society of Women Engineers

The UC Berkeley SWE section supports students through professional development, social events and outreach to young women interested in the STEM field.